Skip to main content

How can I share DNA results with a collaborator?

You can share DNA results from any kit that you manage or have been assigned to with a collaborator.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

However, if you want to share the results with the test-taker themselves, please invite them to review their results by following these steps.


​

A collaborator will be able to:
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

  • View DNA Matches, Ethnicity Estimate, and Genetic Groups

  • Contact your DNA Matches

  • View and edit your family tree
    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

A collaborator will not be able to:
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

  • Download raw DNA data

  • Delete the DNA kit

  • Share the DNA results with others

  • Re-assign the kit to a different person

  • Change your DNA privacy preferences
    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

To share DNA results with a collaborator, please follow the steps below:


​

1. Click on the ‘DNA’ tab and select ‘Manage DNA kits’:
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


​

2. On the Manage DNA kits page, click on the three dots on the right side of the kit you want to share and select ‘Share DNA results with a collaborator’:


​

3. A window will pop up where you can enter the collaborator's email address. Once you have entered the email address, click ‘Share’.


​


​

4. An email will be sent to your collaborator inviting him or her to become a member of your site and view the DNA results.
​

Please note that you need to have the permission to invite members to the family site to which you will be inviting the collaborator as a member. Every DNA kit is associated to a profile and every profile is associated to a family tree and these trees are part of a family site. You can learn more about this structure here.
​

This means that if you are unable to share your DNA results with a collaborator, you might see a message that you will need to contact the site manager to first upgrade your permissions for the family site with which your DNA kit is associated. Only once you are a site manager will you be able to share our DNA results and thereby also add a member to the family site.
​

To learn more about the difference between being a site manager and a site member, please read here.


​


​

Note: If your collaborator is not already a MyHeritage user, he or she will be prompted to create a free account upon accepting your invitation to view the DNA results.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

The yellow arrow displayed by the kit’s serial number indicates that the collaborator hasn’t accepted your invitation yet:


​

The same arrow will become green, once the collaborator has accepted the invitation:


​


​

How to remove the results sharing
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

To stop sharing the kit results, follow these steps:
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

1. On the Manage DNA Kits, click on the three dots on the right side of the DNA kit description. Then select “Remove results sharing”:


​


​

2. Click ‘Confirm’ on the pop-up window that will appear:
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


​

NOTE:

Any notes and labels that you might have added to your DNA Matches will not be shared with your collaborator.

Did this answer your question?