Skip to main content

How can I downgrade my family site back to Basic?

Find out how to downgrade your MyHeritage family site to Basic, including the option to claim a discount if you'd rather stay

If your site subscription has expired, you have the option to downgrade your family site back to the free Basic version. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your family site.

  2. At the top of the Home page, you'll see a red band letting you know your site has expired. Click the small arrow next to "Extend now" to see more options.

  3. Select "Downgrade site to Basic".

  4. You'll now see a screen with a discount offer to keep your current subscription instead of downgrading. From here, you have two options:

    • Extend your subscription — takes you to a discounted checkout so you can extend your subscription instead of switching to Basic.

    • Downgrade to Basic — confirms your downgrade to Basic.

If you'd like to keep your current features, "Extend your subscription" is right there for you. If you're sure you'd like to switch to Basic, select "Downgrade to Basic" to confirm.

⚠️ Note: Basic sites are limited to 250 individuals, regardless of how many family trees you have. If you already have more than 250 people in your site, you'll need to upgrade it to add more.

Did this answer your question?