You can delete the DNA file for any kit that you either manage or have been assigned to.
To delete your DNA digital file stored on our MyHeritage servers, hover over the "DNA" tab and click on "Manage DNA kits":
On the next page, click on the three dots on the right side of the DNA file you want to remove and choose "Delete kit":
Your DNA data will then be deleted.
Please be aware that this is irreversible and your DNA data cannot be recovered!
What happens when you delete your DNA file
Deleting your DNA file removes more than just the raw data. Once the file is deleted, the following are also removed and cannot be recovered:
Your DNA Matches for that kit
Your Ethnicity Estimate and any other results derived from the DNA data
If you'd prefer to stop receiving DNA Matches without deleting your DNA file, you can turn off DNA Matching instead — this is reversible. See: Can I delete the DNA Matches?
What about your physical DNA sample?
If you sent in only one vial and received your DNA results, the lab no longer has your physical sample — it was destroyed as part of the testing process once your results were generated.
If you sent in two vials and didn't choose to get our BioBank service when it was offered, the backup sample was also destroyed.
If you sent in two vials and paid for our BioBank service to store one of them, and you now want the physical sample of the second (backup) vial destroyed, there is no self-service option for this. Please go to the Contact Us form and request that we destroy your stored backup sample, since this has to be handled by our team.


