The Photo Storyteller™ is available on the free MyHeritage mobile app and enables users to easily record themselves or interview their family members, describing the real story behind any of their family photos.
This feature is free, open to all users, and works on the mobile app only.
To record a story behind a photo, open the MyHeritage mobile app. Tap the 'Photos' icon on the main screen.
If your app’s main screen doesn’t look like this and still shows the “father and son on the lake” image, upgrade your app to the latest version which also includes the Photo Storyteller™.
You can also tap on the three lines in the top left-hand corner of the main screen, which opens up the main menu, and then select “Photos”.
Your photo gallery will appear, where you’ll see all of the photos that you currently have on MyHeritage.
Alternatively, you can access your photos from an individual’s profile in the family tree. After going to the Photos tab, you can tap on a photo, and record a story for it from there.
Tap on any photo to view it. Then, tap on the new microphone icon in the bottom right-hand corner to open the recording screen.
Tap the Recording button to begin recording.
When you’re done, tap Stop to end the recording. You can listen to the recording, save it, or delete it. There is a one-hour limit to each recording. Note that you can either record yourself, or bring your mobile phone to a family get-together and interview a relative.
Once saved, the recording will be tagged under the name of the person who made the recording. Currently, you can add up to one recording for each photo, and in future versions we plan to support multiple recordings. When you save a recording, it will be uploaded to the MyHeritage servers for safekeeping and assigned the same privacy level as the photo to which it is attached.
Accessing your recordings
To access your photo stories on the MyHeritage mobile app, open the Photos section. Any photos in your albums that have an audio recording will now have a play button symbol in the bottom right corner of the photo.
Select a photo and tap the play button on the bottom right-hand corner to play the recording.
While it plays, you can pause and resume at any time, or tap the Trash icon to delete the recording if you decide to discard it.
Important:
If you choose to delete the original photo, any audio recording that is attached to the photo will be deleted as well.









