Our automatic face recognition has some problems identifying faces if the person in the photo does not face the camera, or is partially hidden by another person. You can, however, tag the missing faces manually by clicking the 'Add a person' button which is available below the list of people in the photo.
About deleting a photo, make sure that you delete the photos that you uploaded manually. If you delete the photos that were published by the Family Tree Builder software, these photos will be republished the next time you save your project. There is a little trick to know which photo was uploaded by you and which one was uploaded by the software: Photos that were uploaded by you have 2 extra buttons to the left of the delete button for rotating the photo to the right and left.
About getting the matching between photos and people back to your computer, that is a good suggestion, and we will sure think about it for the next version of Family Tree Builder (version 5)