Log in
Sign up
View all  |  Close all
#
Subject
Posted by
Actions
1
Could staff delete two outdated versions of a tree on my web page?
Paul J. Lareau
- Close
Like so many others, I have two outdated copies of my primary tree that I wish to delete, but they lack a delete function. They are both quite large (over 400,000 persons each), have been updated into a 2012 version on my site, and have been disconnected from the SmartMatching system for several months.   

The trees that need to be deleted are:

FAMILY - 15 Sep 2011

FAMILY - Earlier Version

That will leave two current trees in my account.   Thanks, folks.

Paul J. Lareau - LAREAU WEB SITE 

 

Paul J. Lareau
- Reply
2
RE: Could staff delete two outdated versions of a tree on my web page?
Shachar Biran
- Close

Hi Paul,

Since your tree is very big, we need to delete these trees from side.

I have deleted the trees you requested.

 

Best Regards,

Shachar

MyHeritage.com team 

Shachar Biran
- Reply
3
RE: Could staff delete two outdated versions of a tree on my web page? [2]
Paul J. Lareau
- Close
Thank you!   That completes my efforts to upgrade and update my MyHeritage site.   I figured that the size was the problem both with deleting obsolete trees and in speeding up the system response.   I appreciate your help.
Paul J. Lareau
- Reply
4
RE: Could staff delete two outdated versions of a tree on my web page? [3]
member
- Close

Why do new updated versions of a tree not automatically delete the old one.  Every day I dave more and more smart matches to people who have multiple trees with the same  people in them.  I have to go through and click ignore tree all the time, which is a real pain, and does no body any good.  I hear others with the same complaint.

Please let me know!!!

 

- Reply
5
RE: Could staff delete two outdated versions of a tree on my web page? [4]
Daniel D.
- Close

Hi Roger,

Thank you for writing us regarding this issue.

Generally, when you sync your tree you overwrite the data on your site.

However, if you choose to save your project as a new project it will create a new (duplicate) project on site. An issue that happens from time to time is that instead of saving the project normally ("Save project..." function), site managers pick the other function ("Save project as...") which accidentally saves their project as new ones and thus creating the duplicate smart matches.

Another options is individuals who work with GEDCOMs (from other softwares) and not the family tree builder, unfortunately there is no GEDCOM overwriting functionality and they simply have to delete the old tree and upload the new tree. 

There are a few other possibilities such as loading from backup that may upload it as a new tree (by accidentally choosing the wrong options) 

The best course to resolve this would be to contact the other site managers and to ask him why is this happening with his site - and to possibly help them as they may be unaware of the situation.

I'm sorry for the bad experience Roger, and I hope that this will atleast explain why our members sometime upload duplicate trees. I hope this helps!

Daniel D.
- Reply
 
Loading...
Loading...