I'd just like to concur that I was going to post on the forums similarly to Arcady and Colin, so such a feature would be greatly appreciated. Also another reason that Colin probably had in mind too is for younger members of one's family. It'd be nice for the younger kids to be able to log on and view the site (and maybe even add to it, depending on their capability) but there'd have to be a safeguard against 'accidents'. Possibly an undo history (e.g. Wikipedia)? However, I am sure a 'read-only' pass will be a lot more plausible to implement as a first step. (accessible from that list of "site members" in a similar way to "site manager" privileges perhaps?)
Thanx for your attention, this option will be is very appreciated:
From time to time I managed to find potential relatives from other family trees on your site (and some others, too). I would like to provide them an access to my tree for examination and looking for common ancestors... But I don't want to grant read-write privileges to my site for unknown people. As well, I don't want to turn off editing privileges for all existing members of the family site via "Settings > Privacy > Members" menu. So, there is no solution currently.
In general, it would be useful to implement an option for granting view-only access to my site/tree for individual Myheritage.com users without having them to become members of the family site. Hope, contacting people across your site (and making genealogic searches) would be more effective with this option!
This Option should be a prioity as I have spent hours uploading documents and photos and it would only take one minute to undo all this work, for example, in the documents I have entered keywords for searches and linked to people in the tree if someone removes the document all that work would be undone. I am not saying it would be done on pupose. but accidents happen.
This is exactly the issue I am having. I have one family member who is rewriting history in my tree because of personal vendettas/agendas against other family members. But to block or remove this person completely would start a family war that I do not wish to start. I would just like to give that one person the ability to view only and not be able to edit. In the meantime - every time they delete an ex-husband, etc., I have to go and add them back in - and it's very difficult at times to catch the changes in my very large tree when this person touches say 12 people at once.
Please, please make rights-access a priority. I'm at a loss about how to handle this within my family.
Thank you so much for your prompt reply, and e-mail response. Until we have the option to restrict individuals, I think I will have to have two trees -- one for the family to mess around with, and one with limited access. Not sure how else to handle it. Thanks again.
By default, members of your family site can edit the trees on your site.
However, if your tree was created in Family Tree Builder and published to your family site, then both you and your members cannot edit your tree online. In order to update your tree, you will then have to re-publish from your family site, and your tree will be replaced with the newly published one.
You can also have a tree that is editable online, and yet choose to make it read only to your site members, so that they will not be able to edit it. To do so, please go into Settings > Privacy, and under the members tab you will see the checkbox ‘Can site members edit the family tree'. Make sure to save your settings.
Unfortunately, you cannot restrict your members from having access to your photos and documents to download them.