I know about the "Tools > Publishing > Advanced publishing settings menu", but it doesn't allow to select multiple name (with ctrl or shift) and so it takes a long time to select one by one about one hundred people. And it shall be done each time you publish. So it is not a praticable solution.
My suggestion is to add an other flag (other that the one already present to set a people as private) in the detail of each person to disallow the publication of such a person, as if such a person doesn't exist at all. This of course should disable the publication of also all the other people which are tied to the tree by means of explicitly disabled person.
The other issue is the different line for adoption line which should not used in case of living people.
I think the general idea is that other people will have info you will want but don't want to bother to ask you to add it. The recommendation itself is no big deal and has nothing to do with individual members' thoughts or preferences.
Yes, please allow members to continue to edit/update information, but I agree that this information must be approved by the site administrator. I put so much work into researching data on my ancestors and when another family member updates the details of someone I have already researched, I'm very concerned. This should not be allowed to happen without my approval. Thanks for listening, and I really love using your site to track my genealogy! :)
I tried downloading Updates for my MyHeritage 4 a number of times. While the Update to both 5 and 6 seem to work properly, I can no longer use my Outlook Express 6. Has anyone else encountered this problem?
I can't even send the error report detail via the error screen as my email doesn't work!
I have also complained about this problem back in July.
I'd have thought it would be relatively simple to fix. Just filter the GEDCOM and strip the HTML before it is fed to Nigel Bufton's program.Ideally some formating would be preserved, but I'd be happy with a quick fix.
Our programmers decided that since there are some programs that can import these HTML tags, to remove HTML tags only in case of creating a family book. This issue is currently only partially fixed- but they are woring on it.
I will update you regarding the matter as well, and apologzie for the inconvenience.
I have a private site that I invite members to join who are interested in common ancestors. However, I am not interested in sharing the information of living relatives with most of those people. I only want to share living relative infromation with my close familiy. Can this be done and how?
Just a thought. You could just make it public. That way people who are interested in the common ancestors can still see them and won't need to become members, and therefore won't be able to see the close living relatives.
We don't have a type of membership like other sites that the Site Manager can designate as "read only" or "can edit" or "can edit, but only specific info".
However, the Mixed privacy setting is designed to allow you to invite the people you want to see the full tree and still give guests limited access with names of living people in the tree protected. Just give guests the link to your site. They can reach the site and will automatically see the tree with limited information.