Some of my invitees to my family site are no longer receiving Calendar Email Notifications of Birthdays and Anniversaries which they were previously getting. How to I get them back on the list of those receiving the Emails?
We currently don't offer the option to 'block' one specific member.
What you can do is actually promote to site managers every people you want to give the privilege of editing the tree and leave others only as members and then close the access of members in editing and adding information on the tree.
Please, read the articles below that will give you an idea of what I just told above.
I think the member's access right and privilege setting is inadequate. There are some cases where we need to accomodate access requirement which can't be simplied as site manager and not site manager. I have a proposal how to handle this. I'll post it on the appropriate room. I hope MyHeritage will consider my proposal as I believe it would be needed by everyone as well.
Hmm, the solution you have suggested would not prevent the "plain" members to view the family tree. I am looking to prevent them accessing the family tree at all.
I would like then to request a feature where it is possible to manage the memberships of the family tree. I.e. possibility not only to invite new members and upgrade (and downgrade) privileges for some members, but also being able to remove members (their access right) that have been invited in the past.
Would you be able to help me specifically in this case here, by manually removing two members of my family tree?
Even if I delete the persons from the family tree that would not prevent them from accessing the family tree as members, right?
have a look at the list of your site members. When you click on "More..." under "Actions" for a specific person in the list you will see a pop-up window where you have an option "remove from site". Chosing this option will remove the person from the members list but will not affect your tree.
Just be aware that by removing the person completely from the site, he/she will not be able to see the whole tree anymore. A person that is not an invited member, a "guest" as we call it, will only see the deceased people in your tree. All the living people will appear as 'private' for him/her.
If, moreover, your site is set as private, then those people you removed from the site and therefore is not a member anymore, will not be able to see the site at all, and will reach a 'brick-wall' on the site, just showing the name of your site and saying that the person is not a member and therefore cannot see the tree, only if requesting a membership (and a button will appear to request membership).
In this case I think Henrik wanted to revoke the invitation to view his tree. In other word he want to stop collaborating with just one person. Unfortunately in MH that mean revoking their membership.
This case does highlight again what I tried to describe here when I talked about lack of granularity for collaborating. There isn't enough ability to modify membership behaviour. Having to make everyone a site-manager just to remove editing rights to one person, is an overkill. Having to revoke membership just to control viewing levels is also overkill.
Can you please ask developers to give this some thought in future improvements. It would be a big PLUS to MH if collaboration was enhanced.
I am very unhappy about the fact that relationships are no longer calculated in the on-line tree except for ones that myHeritage considers ‘close’.I understand that beyond a certain number (I believe it is 5000 in a tree now), it gets cumbersome and perhaps expensive, so I am not advocating automatic calculations every time one clicks on a profile, but why could it not still be done upon request?In FTB one can still request a relationship calculation between distant relatives, which can lead to a lot of research not otherwise possible.Many users, however, are not on FTB.On-line I get the answer that so-and-so is not related to such-and-such, when I know for a fact that they are.And is it not the point of a family tree that all people in it are related to each other either by blood or marriage? I hereby ask that this expanded relationship calculation capability be restored to the on-line tree.
Please note that your concerns for this improvement have been forwarded to the relevant department and is being looked into.
Without wanting to cause any further distress to you, I am only able to say that the matter will be considered and hopefully included with future releases of the software and online family site due to a number of users having contacted us with a similar request.
You dont do it in the FTB. FTB is the offline tool which you can update the WEB tree from. Im not sure if it is possible to have multiple users that can update the WEB tree thru FTB yet.
You can give web users the right to edit the WEB tree. By default you have probably not given members any rights to edit. To do that try this:
When logged in here on MyHeritage you have your name up to the right. Go in on your profile, then up to the left you have "Member> <your name>". Click on Member. Now you get a list of all users that have become members to your tree. Out on the right you have 2 links, use the More where you have the posibility to elevate a member to Webmaster of your tree.
Since I dont use it I dont know the exact functions for the Webmaster , for instance if you can limit the rights you give to the webmaster or if the webmaster will have the exact same rights as you which could be a security risk.
I wanted to make my cousin a site manager so she could add to and update our family tree.
I followed your instructions and found a list of people who are members of my site. My cousin was not one of them. In fact, the ONLY place I can find my cousin's name is in our tree, her card. There is no way there to make her a manager.
I'm getting a lot of emails from myheritage sites that I'm a member of; including calenders and updates. I don't want to recieve them; so i'm forced to go through and manually unsubscribe from emails on each site. Could it be possible to make it so that I can simply go into my account and click a box that keeps me off the page's email list for updates and calenders?