The privacy settings allow you to control access to your family site. First, it is important to understand what type of audience may visit your family site.
There are three possible types of users for any family site.
- Site Manager / creator – this is the person who created the family site or another member promoted by the original Site Manager to Site Manager status. The Site Manager who is the actual creator of the site has the most privileges.
- Site Members – these are family members and friends that have been invited to the family site, typically with lower privileges but still able to contribute content to the site, such as photos and comments.
- Guests (e.g. the general public) – guests are not allowed to add content and the content they are allowed to see is restricted.
You can change your family site privacy settings at any time. First, log into your family site. Mouse over your name in the upper right hand side of the screen. Select “My Privacy”.
“My member preferences” settings allow you to control what guests can see about your MyHeritage member profile.
The “Access” settings allow you to control what family site members and guests can see when they visit your family site.
The “Content” settings allow you to control how your family tree and photos can be searched by other MyHeritage members.